AHI Architectural Heritage Intervention

“Contributing to enhancing our heritage, as the way forward for 21 st Century architecture is our raison d’être; to emphasize a diverse, rich vision that necessarily complements the intervention is our mission, and achieving it with reflexive and purposeful efforts is the challenge”.

This project, founded in, and directed since, 2011 by Ramon Calonge, Oriol Cusidó, Marc Manzano and Jordi Portal, architects and members of the Group of Architects for the Defence and Intervention in Architectural Heritage (AADIPA), has, through the years become a platform that includes four actions that are both independent and transversal.
The European Award, a biennial event that brings together and showcases the multiple approaches of intervention in Europe.

The International Biennial, a framework that serves to compare and gain closer insight of quality interventions in architectural heritage in non-European countries.

The digital Archive, a live and open window that provides a panoramic view of interventions in the history of our surroundings.

The Forum, a meeting place where you can participate in on-going debates about the main preoccupations and lines of thought about interventions in architectural heritage in Europe.

Jury for the 5th edition of the Award

Jury for the 5th edition of the Award

13 January 2021

The architects and professionals that make up the jury of this 5th edition of the European Award for Architectural Heritage Intervention, for its four categories, have been selected on the basis of their extensive experience and recognized capability in the field of architectural heritage intervention.

The members of this international jury –including, as usual, winners and finalists of the fourth edition– will evaluate and analyse in depth each and every one of the works admitted in its category in order to determine those selected, finalists and award winners.

In Category A, Built Heritage, the jury is made up of the architect António Jorge Fontes, a partner at Cerejeira Fontes, a Portuguese firm based in Braga which, among other renowned awards, in 2013 was distinguished with the CICA prize for young international architects awarded by the Buenos Aires architecture biennial. He is accompanied by the architect David Lorente, co-founding partner of the H Arquitectes studio in Sabadell (Barcelona) firm since 2000. A studio which has become a benchmark in the use of traditional construction techniques to create architecture with a fully contemporary feeling and, whose work has been recognized with several prestigious awards and widely disseminated in publications around the world. The final member of the jury for this category is Marco Antonio Garcés, a renowned Peruvian architect specialized in heritage who, having held various public positions in this field, is the current president of the Academia del Partal, an association of monumental restoration professionals whose aim is to develop knowledge, reflection and dissemination of the various disciplines involved in the conservation of Architectural Heritage.

As regards category B, dedicated to recognizing interventions in Exterior Spaces, the professionals who this year will evaluate the proposals received are the following: on the one hand, the architect Delphine Péters who graduated with a master's degree in conservation and restoration of monuments and historical sites from KU Leuven and is the founding partner of Binario. A studio based in Liège (Belgium) whose work, covering topics such as heritage restoration and rehabilitation, educational infrastructure or collective housing, has received awards in several competitions. On the other hand, the Award counts with the participation of Olga Felip, a young internationally accredited Catalan architect, both for the professional career, which she has been developing as a partner of the studio Arquitecturia since 2006, and for which she has been recognized with prestigious distinctions such as the Young Architect of the Year Award in 2013 or the Princess of Girona Arts i Lletres Foundation award in 2015, among others; as well as for her teaching and research career that has linked her to centres such as the Architectural Association School of London. And the third member of the jury is Isabel Aguirre de Urcola, an architect from Galicia, who with more than 25 years of experience in the field of architecture and landscape has managed the Galician School of Landscape, pertaining to the Juana de Vega Foundation since 2008. The quality of her interventions has been recognized with awards such as the Manuel de la Devesa National Prize for Architecture (1997) and she has participated in numerous exhibitions, particularly noteworthy is the exhibition of the 15 best Landscape Architects in Europe in 2000, curated by Harvard University. 
Likewise, in category C, dedicated to Urban planning, the jury is made up of Sascha Wienecke, a partner of the German studio Planergruppe GmbH Oberhausen, which since 2013 has positioned itself internationally as a benchmark in the planning of industrial landscapes for the Zollverein park project, which integrates green landscape with industrial archaeology, leisure facilities and cultural equipment. The second member is the Catalan architect and urban planner Sebastià Jornet, current president of the Association of Urban Planners of Catalonia (AAUC) of the COAC and partner at the Jornet-Llop-Pastor arquitectes studio. Throughout his professional career he has gained recognition with prestigious awards such as the 2006 National Urbanism Award, the 2010 European Urbanism Award or the 11th Spanish Biennial Urbanism Award. And the third member is Joaquín Pérez-Goicoechea, founding partner of the Madrid studio of AGi Architects, with offices in Kuwait, which bases its architecture on four basic pillars: innovation, an existential component, ecological and social vocation and research. 

Lastly, category D, dedicated to Disclosure, will feature the German architect Peter Cachola Schmal, who, since 2006, has combined professional practice with managing the Deutsches Architekturmuseum (DAM) in Frankfurt am Main, an institution that It is considered one of the leading platforms for architectural discourse in Europe; Laida Memba, an architect who has collaborated on several international cooperation projects and who is at the forefront of a research project that analyses the lived space and contemporary sociocultural practices in Malabo, capital of Guinea Equatorial; and finally, Joan Olona, Architectural Technologist, and Doctor of Technology in Architecture, Associate Lecturer at the UPC, Coordinator of the Master's Degree in Rehabilitation and Restoration at La Salle and, current member of the ArquinFad Board.

Regarding the Special Mention for Restoration, the architect Francis Metzger, partner at Ma² –a studio worthy of this recognition in the last edition–, together with the Award management, will choose the new winner from among all the works presented. The Belgian firm Ma² is noteworthy for addressing intervention in heritage by means of precise methodology based on research, and the enhancement of technique and aesthetics.